Give a Fuck

Separation of Church and…o wait I forgot that down south little things like the constitution don’t matter. Call me a Northerner with bias. Actually call me whatever the fuck you want I’m not a fan of the politics down south. Not the politics now, not the politics a hundred years ago. Yes I know bigotry exists everywhere it just seems to have set up camp in the southern states. From slavery to Jim Crow to gay marriage, the south kinda sorta sucks when it comes to human rights. Try and tell me different and I will gay punch you.

It is of absolutely no shock to me that this amendment passed. Come on you aren’t shocked. Angry yes. Shocked? No way. We all just watched as Rick Santorum had a serious run and good shot at winning the GOP nod for president. If people were voting for that fool people are voting against gay marriage. It’s idiot arithmetic. What is shocking about today is that (hold onto your seats) PRESIDENT OBAMA FINALLY CAME OUT IN SUPPORT FOR GAY MARRIAGE I mean it only took him a full fucking term. But he is the first president to ever do so. EVER. So serious cheers are in honor. For real. Thank you Obama.

“I’ve always been adamant that gay and lesbian Americans should be treated fairly,” Obama told Roberts, in an interview that will air in full on ABC’s “Good Morning America” Thursday.

“I have to tell you that over the course of several years as I have talked to friends and family and neighbors when I think about members of my own staff who are in incredibly committed monogamous relationships, same-sex relationships, who are raising kids together, when I think about those soldiers or airmen or marines or sailors who are out there fighting on my behalf and yet feel constrained, even now that Don’t Ask Don’t Tell is gone, because they are not able to commit themselves in a marriage, at a certain point I’ve just concluded that for me personally it is important for me to go ahead and affirm that I think same sex couples should be able to get married,” he said. -Huffington Post

With that said why the flying fuck did it take you so long? The past four years have seen so much movement in the gay rights spectrum yet you have remained mum. Joe Biden stepped up. Tens of Republicans stepped up (against it) but you sir, you were silent. What gives? As a black man you understand what it can be like to be hated before you even open your mouth. Racism and homophobia are this countries achilles heels. We’ve obviously made huge strides in the racism department but it does still linger in our countries past.

A lot of people do not want homophobia compared to racism, but I see little difference. The same hate that I have received for being black I have received for being gay. Different words that mean the same thing: I hate you for who you are. In the 50’s and 60’s both black and white Americans got angry. They saw what racism was doing to this country. What it would continue to do to this country. They united and spoke out. They were arrested, beaten, held in cells for days,THEY DIED. People died for your rights. What have you done for gay rights? What are you willing to do to ensure that our children can marry whomever they choose? Are you angry? Are you angry enough? Do you care enough? Start.

I’m not asking the gays to create an army equipped with glitter bazookas and plaid pistols. But I am asking you as an individual whether you are gay or straight to give a fuck.

Leave a Reply

