Summer

You see it’s only half way over but this years felt like a few years if you know what I
If you know what I mean
Summer winds are blowing and all I can think of is that winters on its way
And all I can reason is maybe it’s time to leave the east coast
Friends they’ve been rolling back and forth
And I’ve been dragging on for far too long
My brain is vibrating
As my body paces
Up and down the city
Home feeling a bit strange
Out of place
Shitty
Little escapes set your heart on fire
But your heels are stuck in the mud
a city of concrete and you are in lake of quicksand, gun powder, and fire
So tell your heart you’re trying your best to keep up
Tell your heart that it’s ready to fall in love
Whether it be with a city or with a girl
Whether it be for forever
Or for the moment
Every moment was once your future
And you did tell yourself yesterday that tomorrow would be the day
So today maybe you should take a chance
Even if all it means is that a door will slam
You can take it
Night creeps in
But it’s only sometimes that the moon joins in
You forget the stars exist in the city
Your forget that nighttime can be peaceful
Stars and black skies
That make you want to lay out on lawns and smile
I guess it is safe to say that I have no idea what I want
But it does need to be said that from now on I will only visit haunts
My past is there
And it used to bring me to my knees
But my past has passed and blaming anyone in my future leads to no leads
Maybe I will show you my heart
Maybe I will give you a summary
But here I am
And you see I’m not worried about whether or not you or they want me
I only worry that I will give up on me

Leave a Reply

